Page 2 of 6

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Thu 5. Jan 2017, 13:48
by mem5000
i tried this as well
Set it to high performance, didn't seem to help.
I just now double checked, it's still on high performance, and is blanking out even as i type this message.

now...
Oddly enough, yesterday, it did fine all day long... which was a first. It didn't blank out once. I'm not sure what was different... are all 3 USB C Ports on the side ... created equal? Is there one in particular i should use for a USB hub? that's the only thing i can think of that might have been different -- maybe i plugged it into a different slot? I ran the same apps.... everything else was the same.
Is there some log or something i can get to, to try to help narrow this down?

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Mon 9. Jan 2017, 01:52
by ostonica
mem5000 wrote: are all 3 USB C Ports on the side ... created equal? Is there one in particular i should use for a USB hub? that's the only thing i can think of that might have been different -- maybe i plugged it into a different slot? I ran the same apps.... everything else was the same.
Is there some log or something i can get to, to try to help narrow this down?


No - the three USB-c ports are not equal. If you want to connect the MSP to another computer to work as a Cintiq, then you MUST connect to the middle port.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Mon 9. Jan 2017, 13:30
by mem5000
interesting
ok, today i will run with my usb-c hub - via which the external monitor is hooked up -- to the middle port.

will report my findings.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Tue 10. Jan 2017, 13:57
by mem5000
Yesterday, ran with my hub/monitor plugged into middle USB port... occasionally blanking out of screen....
today, i have the power plugged into the middle port, and teh usb/monitor plugged into... the bottom port. thus far, no blanking out of the screen.

i really hope it's that simple of a fix!

will continue to post my observations.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Wed 11. Jan 2017, 14:38
by mem5000
nope... still does it. was fine all day yesterday... today it's blanking out. Not sure what to think. it seems to work ok for a day, and the next day, not. i can't see any pattern.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Wed 11. Jan 2017, 16:35
by ostonica
Is there a different hub you could try?

I don't think I will need to use a hub with my MSP13, but if I do I will try to find one different from yours to check an alternative!

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Thu 12. Jan 2017, 22:05
by mem5000
I've tried 2 different ones

Both do the same thing.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Fri 13. Jan 2017, 14:47
by ostonica
One other thought. what is the total length of the cable from your MSP to your monitor?

I was just reading the manual for the Sunix PCIe card that I just ordered (after some reassurance with tech info from Sunix) and read this:

"The length of the USB 3.1 cable must not exceed 1.0 meter. Please do not extend the
cable. If an USB repeater must be used, the total cable length must not exceed 1.0 meter.
Longer cables may cause poor performance."

Just wondered if that might be relevant to your problem?

Jim

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Sat 14. Jan 2017, 16:43
by mem5000
i believe, it's a 3 foot cable... ill have to check

just to point out, it's not the external monitor that blanks out... it's my MSP's tablet screen that does

It was doing it to me yesterday, and i yanked the external monitor out of the hub, and put it back in... that seemed to make it stop...

it's been VERY hard to trouble shoot... it acts so erratically.

Re: MSP 16 with external monitor blanks out

Posted: Sat 14. Jan 2017, 16:43
by mem5000
i believe, it's a 3 foot cable... ill have to check

just to point out, it's not the external monitor that blanks out... it's my MSP's tablet screen that does

It was doing it to me yesterday, and i yanked the external monitor out of the hub, and put it back in... that seemed to make it stop...

it's been VERY hard to trouble shoot... it acts so erratically.