Page 1 of 1

Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Mon 28. Oct 2019, 11:17
by wizz72
I have just picked up the new Mobile Studio Pro 2019 Gen 2, I have added more ram but I'm now looking to upgrade the ssd M.2.
My question is will a NVMe SSD work in this?

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Mon 28. Oct 2019, 13:23
by wacom5
Hi. Congratulations on your purchase.
Regarding the SSD, the answer is yes. The slot is PCIe Gen3 M.2 compliant with NVMe.

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Wed 30. Oct 2019, 13:21
by wizz72
Thank you for the fast reply, I ended up putting in a 1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus and it works great:)

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Wed 30. Oct 2019, 13:57
by wacom5
wizz72 wrote:Thank you for the fast reply, I ended up putting in a 1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus and it works great:)

Great! If you don't mind asking, how did you perform the Windows installation on the new SSD?
Some customers have been having issues with this so I'm curious.

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Wed 30. Oct 2019, 14:38
by wizz72
wacom5 wrote:
wizz72 wrote:Thank you for the fast reply, I ended up putting in a 1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus and it works great:)

Great! If you don't mind asking, how did you perform the Windows installation on the new SSD?
Some customers have been having issues with this so I'm curious.


I took the ssd out of the MSP and put it in my other workstation and just cloned it to the new ssd. hope this helps

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Wed 30. Oct 2019, 14:47
by wacom5
wizz72 wrote:
wacom5 wrote:
wizz72 wrote:Thank you for the fast reply, I ended up putting in a 1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus and it works great:)

Great! If you don't mind asking, how did you perform the Windows installation on the new SSD?
Some customers have been having issues with this so I'm curious.


I took the ssd out of the MSP and put it in my other workstation and just cloned it to the new ssd. hope this helps

Which software did you use? Was there any special step you had to take?

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Wed 30. Oct 2019, 16:58
by wizz72
wacom5 wrote:
wizz72 wrote:
wacom5 wrote:Great! If you don't mind asking, how did you perform the Windows installation on the new SSD?
Some customers have been having issues with this so I'm curious.


I took the ssd out of the MSP and put it in my other workstation and just cloned it to the new ssd. hope this helps

Which software did you use? Was there any special step you had to take?


I just used macrium reflect its a very simple process.

Re: Mobile Studio Pro question 2019 Gen 2

Posted: Thu 31. Oct 2019, 11:15
by wacom5
Thank you!