Please enable Javascript to visit our page. Sorry, our site is only available from a browser which accept Javascript.
Wacom Europe GmbH – Europark Fichtenhain A9 – D-47807 Krefeld – http://www.wacom.eu

Application specific settings

Application specific settings

Postby skies » Tue 22. Feb 2011, 13:58

I have been using my good old Graphire 2 for about 10 years. The surface started to degrade and the pen had a crack too. So I bought a nice, black, Bamboo pen & touch.

Now I've been searching for 10 minutes for the application specific settings, only to find out they have deliberately been excluded from the Bamboo driver.

Is this really true? Please don't tell me it's true.
skies

Re: Application specific settings

Postby Wacom » Tue 22. Feb 2011, 17:10

I am sorry, but I cannot tell something else. When introducing the Graphire3 models, the driver was completely redesigned and application specific settings were not supported. This allowed different teams to work on the Graphire3/4/Bamboo verse the Intuos/Cintiq drivers and reduced the time for testing and development, translations etc. The Bamboo driver is also easier to understand and configure for new tablet users.

You can only define and save different tablet setting with the Bamboo preference utility (in Start menu) and reload settings manually when needed.
Wacom

Postby skies » Tue 22. Feb 2011, 19:32

Thank you for the fast reply.

But this is just about applying different settings to different programs, which has nothing to do with drivers. I can't help thinking this is just to make users buy a more expensive tablet. (Including users that do not need higher precision and tilt support etc. but just use it for ergonomics.)
skies

Postby Wacom » Wed 23. Feb 2011, 10:59