Wacom Customer Support page: https://support.wacom.com/

Wacom Product Resources - Drivers, Manuals, Warranty Information & Others

Mac OS 10.15 Catalina Support:
https://www.wacom.com/en-de/support?guideId=015-916

Mac OS 10.15.4 Update:
What does the Mac OS warning message “Legacy System Extension” mean and why am I seeing it?

eStore Shipping
Please note that reduced UPS service might affect your region due to CoVid-19 situation. See updated details for UPS serviceshttps://www.ups.com/de/en/service-alerts.page?id=alert1

Product Registration:
Please register our products on https://www.wacom.com/register
How do I register my Wacom device?

Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Cintiq and Cintiq Pro
siraxe
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 18. Jan 2019, 01:17

Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby siraxe » Fri 18. Jan 2019, 01:28

Anyway to allow eraser(on the pen) to function as a Display Toggle button ?
Image
Or allow us to change the 5 touchscreen buttons on the top ?
Or option to bind "wacom specific commands" to the keyboard as hotkeys ?

Just need 1 spare button to Display Toggle

wacom5
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Fri 18. Jan 2019, 07:34

Unfortunately, neither of those options are possible.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:08

Given that the Cintiq 16 only has an on/off button are there any keyboard alternatives for display toggle?
Using one of the buttons on the pen means one less to use as something useful like right click or middle click.
When using Zbrush or Maya, being able to navigate with both pen buttons is necessary. When one of those buttons is used for display toggle or for the on screen panel, you cant navigate properly in these packages.

It seems like the only other alternative is buying the remote for £100 which seems a bit pricey for one single function. Seems like a bit of a con to me. Surely someone at Wacom can adjust the software to allow display toggle to be remapped to eraser?

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:40

It seems a bit of an oversight for a tablet that has no buttons. Or a shrewd move to force users to also buy the remote.
Adding display toggle to either a keyboard shortcut, or to the eraser on the pen would allow the pen to be used in programs such as ZBrush and Maya for navigation as is usually the case as two buttons are required (one to mimic middle mouse, the other to mimic right mouse).

On the Cintiq 16, you have to have one of those buttons for the on-screen radial wheel OR for toggle display, which means you cant navigate in these programs easily. Unless of course, you fork out another £100 on top of the £600 you've already paid for the tablet.

wacom5
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Mon 11. Mar 2019, 08:41

The only option available is really to assign it to a side switch button on the pen. The eraser is not usable as a switch since it's behaves the same way as then pen nib.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Thu 18. Apr 2019, 08:45

The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

wacom5
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Thu 18. Apr 2019, 09:12

lowpolymatt wrote:The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

I agree that we should discuss some alternative implementations of this function. Your feedback will be forwarded to the team.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

Ignash
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 8. May 2020, 12:45

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby Ignash » Fri 8. May 2020, 12:49

Hello,
is there still no solution for this?
I would love to bind eraser to display toggle! It's kind of weird you can bind keystrokes, but can't bind display toggle?
I have Cintiq Pro 13 and I wish there would be reprogrammable buttons or at least I could bind a keyboard shortcut to launch Wacom commands.

droquis
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 13. May 2020, 18:20

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby droquis » Wed 13. May 2020, 18:24

Just adding my voice to this. Having upgraded to the Cintiq Pro 24 from the intuos nearly a year and a half this is one of two major painpoints in the transition. I much prefer keyboard shortcuts to the Express Remote, but being that is the only way that I can toggle screens, I am forced to keep it out, and basically every time I need to toggle screens, it's already auto powered off. So I need to press the button, realize that it's off, slide the power toggle, press the button, just to click on a different screen. The ability to use a keyboard shortcut, a macro, the eraser, one of the capacitive buttons on the cintiq, really anything else would be a huge huge huge improvement.

wacom5
Posts: 1112
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Thu 14. May 2020, 07:09

This is not currently possible but I passed the feedback along to the team.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com


Return to “Pen Displays”