Wacom Customer Support page: https://support.wacom.com/

Product Registration:
Please register our products on https://www.wacom.com/register
How do I register my Wacom device?

Drawing software:
If you are not able to register, please use the trial version of the software below and try to register again at a later date.
Wacom Drivers:
March 2018: New driver released for Windows (6.3.33-3) and Mac (6.3.33-5). Download drivers and release notes here: http://www.wacom.com/support/product-support/drivers

Touch not working correctly after Driver 6.3.33-5 update for Mac:
http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2581

Mac OS 10.14 Mojave:
Upgrading to Mac OS 10.14 Mojave? A new Mac OSX security feature requires some additional changes to run the Wacom Driver correctly. Please see the instructions found on our support page here. Also, If you have any issues, please try a clean driver install. Follow the steps here.

European Warehouse Inventory:
The European team will be doing inventory from the 27th to the 29th of March. This means that short delays will repairs, order shipping and refunds will occur. We expect to get back to normal schedule on the 1st of April.

Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Cintiq and Cintiq Pro
siraxe
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri 18. Jan 2019, 01:17

Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby siraxe » Fri 18. Jan 2019, 01:28

Anyway to allow eraser(on the pen) to function as a Display Toggle button ?
Image
Or allow us to change the 5 touchscreen buttons on the top ?
Or option to bind "wacom specific commands" to the keyboard as hotkeys ?

Just need 1 spare button to Display Toggle

wacom5
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Fri 18. Jan 2019, 07:34

Unfortunately, neither of those options are possible.

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:08

Given that the Cintiq 16 only has an on/off button are there any keyboard alternatives for display toggle?
Using one of the buttons on the pen means one less to use as something useful like right click or middle click.
When using Zbrush or Maya, being able to navigate with both pen buttons is necessary. When one of those buttons is used for display toggle or for the on screen panel, you cant navigate properly in these packages.

It seems like the only other alternative is buying the remote for £100 which seems a bit pricey for one single function. Seems like a bit of a con to me. Surely someone at Wacom can adjust the software to allow display toggle to be remapped to eraser?

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:40

It seems a bit of an oversight for a tablet that has no buttons. Or a shrewd move to force users to also buy the remote.
Adding display toggle to either a keyboard shortcut, or to the eraser on the pen would allow the pen to be used in programs such as ZBrush and Maya for navigation as is usually the case as two buttons are required (one to mimic middle mouse, the other to mimic right mouse).

On the Cintiq 16, you have to have one of those buttons for the on-screen radial wheel OR for toggle display, which means you cant navigate in these programs easily. Unless of course, you fork out another £100 on top of the £600 you've already paid for the tablet.

wacom5
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Mon 11. Mar 2019, 08:41

The only option available is really to assign it to a side switch button on the pen. The eraser is not usable as a switch since it's behaves the same way as then pen nib.

lowpolymatt
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 18:43

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby lowpolymatt » Thu 18. Apr 2019, 08:45

The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

wacom5
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Postby wacom5 » Thu 18. Apr 2019, 09:12

lowpolymatt wrote:The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

I agree that we should discuss some alternative implementations of this function. Your feedback will be forwarded to the team.


Return to “Pen Displays”