Page 1 of 1

Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Fri 18. Jan 2019, 01:28
by siraxe
Anyway to allow eraser(on the pen) to function as a Display Toggle button ?
Image
Or allow us to change the 5 touchscreen buttons on the top ?
Or option to bind "wacom specific commands" to the keyboard as hotkeys ?

Just need 1 spare button to Display Toggle

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Fri 18. Jan 2019, 07:34
by wacom5
Unfortunately, neither of those options are possible.

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:08
by lowpolymatt
Given that the Cintiq 16 only has an on/off button are there any keyboard alternatives for display toggle?
Using one of the buttons on the pen means one less to use as something useful like right click or middle click.
When using Zbrush or Maya, being able to navigate with both pen buttons is necessary. When one of those buttons is used for display toggle or for the on screen panel, you cant navigate properly in these packages.

It seems like the only other alternative is buying the remote for £100 which seems a bit pricey for one single function. Seems like a bit of a con to me. Surely someone at Wacom can adjust the software to allow display toggle to be remapped to eraser?

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Fri 8. Mar 2019, 19:40
by lowpolymatt
It seems a bit of an oversight for a tablet that has no buttons. Or a shrewd move to force users to also buy the remote.
Adding display toggle to either a keyboard shortcut, or to the eraser on the pen would allow the pen to be used in programs such as ZBrush and Maya for navigation as is usually the case as two buttons are required (one to mimic middle mouse, the other to mimic right mouse).

On the Cintiq 16, you have to have one of those buttons for the on-screen radial wheel OR for toggle display, which means you cant navigate in these programs easily. Unless of course, you fork out another £100 on top of the £600 you've already paid for the tablet.

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Mon 11. Mar 2019, 08:41
by wacom5
The only option available is really to assign it to a side switch button on the pen. The eraser is not usable as a switch since it's behaves the same way as then pen nib.

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Thu 18. Apr 2019, 08:45
by lowpolymatt
The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

Re: Use eraser on Cintiq Pro 16 to "Display Toggle" ?

Posted: Thu 18. Apr 2019, 09:12
by wacom5
lowpolymatt wrote:The problem with using the side buttons on the pen is that those are used for 3d navigation in Maya/zbrush. So it makes the whole tablet pretty much useless unless you buy the remote.

Ideally, you'd have right and middle click on the pen side buttons, eraser as toggle, or a keyboard shortcut for toggle. Either would work.

It feels a lot like a cheap and dirty way of making people buy the remote just to be able to use 3d software. I mean how hard would it be to tweak the wacom software to add a keyboard shortcut for toggle display?

I agree that we should discuss some alternative implementations of this function. Your feedback will be forwarded to the team.