Wacom Customer Support page: https://support.wacom.com/
Wacom Product Resources - Drivers, Manuals, Warranty Information & Others

Mac OS 10.15 Catalina Support:
https://www.wacom.com/en-de/support?guideId=015-916
NOTE: Apple already released an update of 10.15 which solves some of these issues. Please make sure you have the latest update.

Why is the cursor on Windows a white dot or crosshairs? [FIXED]:
https://www.wacom.com/en-de/support?guideId=015-661

Product Registration:
Please register our products on https://www.wacom.com/register
How do I register my Wacom device?

Drawing software:
If you wondering which software to choose, check the trial versions below:

Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Cintiq and Cintiq Pro
mikycoud
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 16. Aug 2019, 11:04

Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby mikycoud » Fri 16. Aug 2019, 12:29

Hi,
I find it surprising that Windows 10 lists the cintiq 24PRO as an 8 bit monitor only, despite the claim by wacom that it is a 10bit panel capable of displaying 1 billion colors (10bit).
Windows lists my other monitors (which are 10 bit capable) as (duh) 10 bit monitors. See attached screenshot...
What's the consensus on this?
Whiwh W is lying? Wacom? Windows?
Does the Cintiq pro 24 really uses a 10bit panel.

I should mention that I've been using 10 bit monitors since forever, and that they're all connected to Quadro cards via displayport cables.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KNo8YZ95Ga_xQLzl0b_Udl8iJ_vOBMw6/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KNo8YZ ... sp=sharing

kangum
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun 25. Feb 2018, 03:29

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby kangum » Fri 16. Aug 2019, 17:18

maybe wacom needs drivers to properly be identified. are the drivers installed correctly.

mikycoud
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 16. Aug 2019, 11:04

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby mikycoud » Fri 16. Aug 2019, 21:34

Yep, of course...

kangum
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun 25. Feb 2018, 03:29

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby kangum » Fri 16. Aug 2019, 23:32

I would be interested also if Wacom would comment on this. I will be rebuying soon due to the first one being faulty and if the 10bit status of this is not clear I dont know if I will buy again.

mikycoud
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 16. Aug 2019, 11:04

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby mikycoud » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 10:29

It is far from clear indeed...
Never in their communication do they clearly mention 10bit. They talk about 1.07 billion colors (which is also feasable with 8bit+FRC).
Nor do they talk about hardware calibration, or other things that are of interest for color conscious users.
I mean, I have a Quadro type card, and I can "force" the 10-bit output in the settings panel (it is 8 bit by default, which is not a good sign).
Windows should see the panel as 10bit by default, as it does on each and every true 10-bit panel I have or have tested.
Anyway, doing a few tests in photoshop (after enabling the 10-bit monitor option in the PS setings/performance panel) shows smooth gradients, but so does it on a 8bit+FRC panel.

Something else, I could find no info whatsoever on the panel type being used in the cintiq pro 24 or 32 models. I mean this is an essential bit of info for proper calibration (the software needs to know this for appropriate corrections).
Is it WLED? GB-LED? etc...
Wacom support seems to indicate that it could be "RGBLED", but as one user comments here (https://hub.displaycal.net/forums/topic ... te-please/) it is very unlikely. I agree.

All in one, I find it extremely surprising that Wacom does not shed some light on the technology available in their flagship tablets, which, let's remind them, is targeted at professionals who have no choice but to care about the color management aspect of their work.

If they' d be so king as to clarify things once and for all, that'd be greatly appreciated ;-)

wacom4
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue 29. Nov 2016, 09:49

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby wacom4 » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 12:32

Please have a look at the specs: https://www.wacom.com/en-gb/products/pe ... ifications
Does this help already?

And please ensure that the connection is supporting the resolution and color range - probably DisplayPort is the best choice (depending on your other hardware).

LogicBrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 21. Aug 2017, 17:23

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby LogicBrain » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 13:48

At least this works fine for me.
1) Go to Nvidia Control pannel
2) Use Nvidia Color settings and change the color depth.
3) Apply. Congratulations you did it!
4) No clue if this helps. Cya


Image

Image

mikycoud
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 16. Aug 2019, 11:04

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby mikycoud » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 15:31

wacom4 wrote:Please have a look at the specs: https://www.wacom.com/en-gb/products/pe ... ifications
Does this help already?

And please ensure that the connection is supporting the resolution and color range - probably DisplayPort is the best choice (depending on your other hardware).


Seriously?
I mean, thanx for your answer, but a link to the generic product page is not gonna help us here.
All I can find on that panel is:
"4K resolution (3840 x 2160 px) is packed into a 24” LCD display with superb color accuracy (99% of Adobe® RGB coverage, CIE1931). You can see every tiny detail of your greatest artwork, design or photographic projects."
How does that answer any of the questions I've raised on this thread?
Judging by your username, you seem to be connected to Wacom, so you have access to more specific info on the panel?

mikycoud
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 16. Aug 2019, 11:04

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby mikycoud » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 15:36

LogicBrain wrote:At least this works fine for me.
1) Go to Nvidia Control pannel
2) Use Nvidia Color settings and change the color depth.
3) Apply. Congratulations you did it!
4) No clue if this helps. Cya


Image

Image


Hey, thanx for attempt, but I already talked about this in my previous message:
" I have a Quadro type card, and I can "force" the 10-bit output in the settings panel (it is 8 bit by default, which is not a good sign).
Windows should see the panel as 10bit by default, as it does on each and every true 10-bit panel I have or have tested."

Unfortunately, it doesn't teach us anything about the true nature of the panel.
As I mentionned earlier, I can apply the same setting to my 8 bit panels, and just beacuse the nvidia driver allows you to do it does not make them 10 bit ones...
In fact, the fact that windows detects them as 8 bit panels in a first place raises suspicions AFAIK.
All my other true 10 bit panels have been recognized by WIN10 as such on first launch...
Thanx anyway!

LogicBrain
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon 21. Aug 2017, 17:23

Re: Cintiq24pro 8 bit only???

Postby LogicBrain » Mon 19. Aug 2019, 16:16

Hey np I tried. ....

At least it was not Generic :D

Very true indeed it does raise some questions, but hey.. it seems like everyone gobbles it down as if it were perfectly fine.
Since I don't have a Quadro Yet.. I had no clue.
I did the same I just forced it to be 10-bit, but yeah I guess Wacom was trying to Copy Nvidia RTX" it just works"...


btw since u have a 10Bit monitor already. Would you mind telling me if see a difference between the two of these?

cya


Return to “Pen Displays”