Wacom Customer Support page: https://support.wacom.com/

Wacom Product Resources - Drivers, Manuals, Warranty Information & Others

Product Registration:
Please register our products on https://www.wacom.com/register
How do I register my Wacom device?

About ARM architecture-based computer support:
Check our FAQ: Does the Wacom driver support ARM architecture-based computers?

PS brush size not working

Wacom One, Cintiq and Cintiq Pro
ThomasK
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 23. Mar 2019, 12:57

PS brush size not working

Postby ThomasK » Tue 19. Jan 2021, 15:16

Hello!

I have an issue with the brush size hotkeys not working with my Cintiq Pro in Photoshop. Since I don't have an english keyboard, I do not use the default brackets, but custom hotkeys. Increasing and decreasing work fine using the keyboard, but not the buttons I've set up on the EK-remote. The default touch wheel setting for brush size on the remote doesn't work either, even when I reset photoshop hotkeys to default.

Since the hotkeys work fine on the keyboard, I assume this must be a Wacom-related bug. Any tips?

I'm running Mac OS 11.1
Adobe Photoshop Version: 22.1.1 20210104.r.138 2021/01/04: 852879028a7 x64
Wacom Driver: 6.3.41-2

wacom5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby wacom5 » Wed 20. Jan 2021, 08:49

If you set up the wheel settings with your own key bindings, you can test them by opening a text editor and scrolling through the wheel in both directions. For further testing, please check with the Customer Support team directly.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

ThomasK
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 23. Mar 2019, 12:57

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby ThomasK » Wed 20. Jan 2021, 12:25

I've not changed the wheel settings. I customized buttons on the remote to match the keys I chose in PS keyboard shor cuts. Regardless, default brush size setting on the wheel doesn't work either, with PS hotkeys being default.

wacom5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby wacom5 » Thu 21. Jan 2021, 14:37

Then they making custom settings and making the key inputs manually. The PS presets don't always work if your keyboard is set to a different language on the Operating System level .

If the issue persists, please check with the customer support team.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

ThomasK
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 23. Mar 2019, 12:57

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby ThomasK » Thu 21. Jan 2021, 15:21

It works fine on the keyboard, though. Both OS and keyboard are set to the same language, but PS is english.

wacom5
Posts: 1336
Joined: Tue 8. Aug 2017, 14:35

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby wacom5 » Fri 22. Jan 2021, 09:25

That's why it's better set the inputs manually in the Wacom Driver. The Driver preset is sending the inputs based on the OS Language but they might not match your keyboard layout correctly and PS will read different key inputs.
Need immediate help? Contact our Support: https://support.wacom.com

ThomasK
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 23. Mar 2019, 12:57

Re: PS brush size not working

Postby ThomasK » Mon 25. Jan 2021, 10:00

But it doesn't work with the default settings either, though. I've never change the touch wheel settings and it doesn't work with the PS keyboard shortcuts set to default. I've double checked that both have the brackets set as shortcuts.

Also, I forgot to mention that the buttons keep the previous mapping.

So, if I go into system settings in the OS and choose the wacom driver, I have set the top left button as keystroke with the name "brush decrease". This was originally the "settings" button by default. I have set the button underneath it also as keystroke and the name "brush increase". This was "precision mode" by default. When I go into photoshop and press the brush increase-button, it brings out precision mode. If I press the brush decrease-button, get the settings overlay. In this setting-overlay I can see that the top left button is not called "brush decrease", but "settings". For the button below, it says "precision mode" and not "brush increase". The driver settings in the OS has my custom buttons, so they haven't been reset automatically.

This might be quite a significant detail, so I'm sorry I failed to mention that.

As a final note: my old 22HD had absolutely no problem with this in Photoshop, using the very same custom shortcuts.


Return to “Pen Displays”