New user account
If you have trouble to create a new user account and do not receive a confirmation Email, please contact our customer support https://www.wacom.com/en-gb/support and we will manually approve your account.
Please send an Email in which you tell us that you agree our Wacom privacy policy. Thank you for your understanding.

Wacom Drivers
June 2018: New drivers released version 6.3.30-6 for Win and 6.3.30-2 for Mac, with various bugfixes. Download drivers and release notes here: http://www.wacom.com/support/product-support/drivers

For clicking problems with Google Chrome see:
http://www.wacom.com/en-us/support?guid ... ListPage-1

Registration
Please register our products on https://www.wacom.com/register
How do I register my Wacom device?:https://www.wacom.com/en-us/support?guideTitle=How-do-I-register-my-Wacom-device%2525253F&guideId=4244ade8-634a-433c-88b4-31d83e63226c

Area settings always reset after PC resume

Intuos, Intuos Pro, Bamboo, Graphire, etc.
tempuserr
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 1. Nov 2017, 10:34

Area settings always reset after PC resume

Postby tempuserr » Wed 1. Nov 2017, 10:48

After resume PC (Win 10 x64, latest drivers) from standby my Wacom 5.1 L's preferences - especially mapping area - are almost always reset to full area.
The only solution to restore proper area settings I have found is unplug and replug tablet.
But I afraid that mini-USB socket in tablet after hundreds or thousands of replugs after each computer resume will damaged this socket and make tablet completely unusable. In fact it becomes more loosy month after month.

So question is:
1. there is a way do do some kind of full initialization tablet settings after resume?
OR
2. there is a way to reload tablet settings (by e.g PrefUtil.exe) from command line, so I can run script on system's resume event?
OR
3. Other solution to solve this annoyance?

wacom1
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue 29. Nov 2016, 09:46

Re: Area settings always reset after PC resume

Postby wacom1 » Wed 1. Nov 2017, 10:54

If you saved the setting in a file, just doubleclick this file and confirm, that you want to restore settings. Running prefutils with the filename should also work.

tempuserr
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 1. Nov 2017, 10:34

Re: Area settings always reset after PC resume

Postby tempuserr » Wed 1. Nov 2017, 11:59

Launching saved *.wacomprefs file indeed works (there is only one confirmation dialog to click). Thanks.
It would be great if there will be possible any "quiet" (non-interaction) option.

But running

Code: Select all

"c:\Program Files\Tablet\Wacom\32\PrefUtil.exe" "c:\<path>\Wacom Intuos 5.1 L.wacomprefs"
didn't work - this display its normal PrefUtil's GUI with 5 buttons to backup/restore/delete/exit.

tempuserr
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 1. Nov 2017, 10:34

Re: Area settings always reset after PC resume (aka How to restore Wacom settings silently)

Postby tempuserr » Sat 11. Nov 2017, 20:34

I reverse engineered this little piece of s***.

To restore tablet's settings silently without interaction anyone should execute:

Code: Select all

"%ProgramFiles%\Tablet\Wacom\32\PrefUtil.exe"  /restore  /silent  "<path to your .wacomprefs config file>"


There are also other command line parameters for PrefUtil:

Code: Select all

/remove-all
/remove-all-no-restart
/backup    .wacomprefs
/restore    .wacomprefs
/silent
(?) /localized-shell-execute
/export    .wacomxs
/import    .wacomxs
/language    ...
/drivertype   ...

pbmbestseller
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 3. Apr 2018, 13:17

Re: Area settings always reset after PC resume

Postby pbmbestseller » Wed 4. Apr 2018, 06:20

Hi tempuserr

Do you know if there is a way to do this on a Mac as well?

Thank you in advance.
Peter


Return to “Pen Tablets”