Page 1 of 1

Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Thu 7. Dec 2017, 10:37
by Rasket
I have a brand new Intuos Pro M for my Mac Pro. Every time I turn on the tablet to use it, Wacom Desktop Center opens as well as the Wacom Setup Wizard. It's really frustrating. If I complete the setup, it wipes all my preferences to default. It also means it will get in the way of any program I am using.

I constantly switch between mouse and tablet through out my working day as a Designer, so my tablet is always going to sleep, meaning this windows open 20+ times a days and 20+ times a day I have to go close both of them and tab back to my program.

Can you please tell me how to turn off this program from running every time.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Thu 7. Dec 2017, 10:49
by wacom1
You can turn off Autostart for WDC in the WDC file menu. And once you have gone through the Setup Wizard it will not open again - unless you overwrite the setting with older settings that don't have the recorrd that you have passed the Wizard. - If you did it once and work with the new settings, we cannot see the SetupWizard showing up again. If it still does, contact Wacom support. We will need to check a system overview, backup of the settings etc to be able to reproduce that.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Fri 15. Dec 2017, 11:00
by Rasket
You can turn off Autostart for WDC in the WDC file menu.


Can you show me exactly where? There is only one button I can see, it's not in the File menu on OSX, it's here and it's off: https://i.imgur.com/WYMzIYo.png. But it still opens.

And once you have gone through the Setup Wizard it will not open again - unless you overwrite the setting with older settings that don't have the recorrd that you have passed the Wizard. - If you did it once and work with the new settings, we cannot see the SetupWizard showing up again. If it still does, contact Wacom support. We will need to check a system overview, backup of the settings etc to be able to reproduce that.


Like I said in my original post, if I do the setup wizard, it wipes all my preference, like for what function keys do what. Then, the next day, it will run again when I first turn my tablet on. And if I do the Wizard again, all my function keys get set to default.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Tue 19. Dec 2017, 18:02
by daaron
I'm having the same issue. I have Autostart disabled in WDC, but every time I plug in my Mac (High Sierra), WDC opens up and the setup wizard starts.

This may be related: I have two tablets: an Intuos Pro M at home and an older Intuos Pro at work. This only happens when I plug in at home.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Wed 20. Dec 2017, 09:41
by wacom1
Make sure to install the new 6.3.27-2 driver. That should fix the problem.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Fri 5. Jan 2018, 22:56
by bourbonsquid
The 6.3.27-2 drivers do not fix the problem. The setup wizard still opens every single time even with Autostart "disabled".

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Sat 6. Jan 2018, 09:02
by wacom1
Autostart is a setting for the Wacom Desktop Center, the Setup Wizard is started when a new tablet is detected or when you have not finished the setup. If you gone through setup once and have a WacomID created, it should not come up again. - Otherwise unplug the tablet, uninstall the driver, restart OSX, attach the tablet and follow the installation steps.

Re: Wacom Setup Wizard opens every time I turn on my tablet

Posted: Wed 10. Jan 2018, 01:17
by babygiant
I have done the steps and done a manual file-by-file un-install and re-install- and STILL the wizard and Wacom Desktop auto-start even though the autostart is not set to "on." I was told by a Wacom tech that this is a permissions issue but that permissions can't be repaired in Sierra, so he suggested I create a new user, test it there, and drag all my files to the new user. Of course I tried the new user AND IT STILL LAUNCHES. You guys are hilarious.